Olivet College Athletics Quick Facts

Name: Olivet College

Location: Olivet, Michigan (pop. 1,758 - 2000 census)

(Founded in 1844, Olivet College is located in south central Michigan, 30 miles south of Lansing and 125 miles west of Detroit. It sits on a rolling hilltop shaded by huge maple and oak trees in the city of Olivet.)

2016 Fall Enrollment: 1,000

Nickname: Comets

School Colors: Red and White

President: Steven M. Corey, Ph.D.

Athletic Director: Ryan Shockey (rshockey@olivetcollege.edu)

Assistant Athletic Director: Mike Lazusky (mlazusky@olivetcollege.edu)

Senior Woman Administrator: Megan Merchant (mmerchant@olivetcollege.edu)

Athletic Department Administrative Assistant: Karine Walters (kwalters@olivetcollege.edu)

Sports Information Director: Geoff Henson (ghenson@olivetcollege.edu)

Head Athletic Trainer: Dan Peterson (dpeterson@olivetcollege.edu)

Assistant Athletic Trainer: Michelle Fasano (mfasano@olivetcollege.edu)

Assistant Athletic Trainer: Alex Vick (avick@olivetcollege.edu

MIAA Faculty Representative: Samantha Myers (slmyers@olivetcollege.edu)

MIAA Faculty Representative: Art Williams (awilliams@olivetcollege.edu)

Athletics Phone: (269) 749-7601

National Affiliation: NCAA Division III

Conference: Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) except wrestling (indepedent) and men's volleyball (Midwest Collegiate Volleyball League)

Conference Members: Adrian, Albion, Alma, Calvin, Hope, Kalamazoo, Saint Mary's (Ind.), Trine (Ind.)

 

Olivet Varsity Sports:

Men (13) - Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Swimming & Diving, Tennis, Track & Field (Indoor and Outdoor), Volleyball, Wrestling

Women (11) - Basketball, Cross Country, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming & Diving, Tennis, Track & Field (Indoor and Outdoor), Volleyball

Non-varsity sports:

Bowling, cheerleading and boxing

 

Athletic Facilities

Basketball, Volleyball, Wrestling: The Cutler Event Center (capacity 1,000)

Football and Lacrosse: Cutler Field (artificial turf, capacity 2,600)

Baseball: O.C. Baseball Field 

Bowling: Char Lanes in Charlotte

Soccer: O.C. Soccer Field

Softball: O.C. Softball Field

Track: Kolassa Track

Tennis: Minges Creek Athletic Club

Golf: Men - Bedford Valley Country Club in Battle Creek; Women - The Medalist Golf Club in Marshall

Swimming: Upton Center Pool

 

Head Coaches

Men:

Baseball - Andy Merchant

Basketball - Steve Ernst

Bowling - Dave Jackson

Cheerleading - Trish Thomas

Cross Country - Karen Lutzke

Football - Dan Musielewicz

Golf - Bill Maas

Lacrosse - Matt Holtz

Soccer - Dan Montanye

Swimming & Diving - Cauli Bedran

Tennis - Andrew DeBruyn

Track & Field (Indoor and Outdoor) - Karen Lutzke

Volleyball - Casey Hilts

Wrestling - Brandon Brissette

Women:

Basketball - Zach Ingles

Bowling - Dave Jackson

Cheerleading - Trish Thomas

Cross Country - Karen Lutzke

Golf - Bill Maas

Lacrosse -  Kaitlin Feeney

Soccer - TBA

Softball - Darrick Brown

Swimming & Diving - Cauli Bedran

Tennis - Andrew DeBruyn

Track & Field (Indoor and Outdoor) - Karen Lutzke

Volleyball - Megan Merchant